Revelation: Chapter 22

The Last Message of the Bible

Introduction - The Book of Revelation has been ridiculed by skeptics of all ages. Just as the Book of Jonah in the Old Testament is dismissed, Revelation has also been dismissed from the realm of facts into the area of fantasy. Spiritual man can only understand spiritual things. In Revelation 22:6, the angel who was introducing John to the final mysteries said, “These words are faithful and true.” One must admit to the profundity of the revelation, yet by faith we can trust, comprehend, and appreciate something of its grandeur.

Jonah: Lesson 6

Read Jonah 1:17, Jonah 2:1-10 and Matthew 12:38-41

Three Days and Three Nights

The principle question before us this morning is: Was Jesus in the heart of the earth for three days and three nights? According to tradition, the Lord was crucified on Friday; this has become known throughout the Christian world as “Good Friday.” If this theory is correct, then the statements of our Lord are incorrect.

Mark 8:31 “and after three days rise again.”

Matthew 27:63 “this deceiver said while he was yet alive, after three days I will rise again.”

1 Corinthians 15:4 “And that He was buried, and that He rose again according to the Scriptures on the third day.”

Jonah 1:17 “And Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of the great fish.”

In the face of such clear statements, the “Good Friday” theory is impossible. There is not a shred of biblical evidence to support it. The assumption that a part of a day counts for a whole day is taken from the Talmud and is not found in the Bible. If Jesus died on Friday, at 3 pm, He was dead for three hours on Friday, all day Saturday, and a few hours on Sunday. This is supposed to be three days and three nights? In actuality it was one day and two nights.

How can we believe this when Jesus Himself said, “three days and three nights?”

The Jewish day began at sundown and ended at sundown. This rule was laid down in Genesis 1:5, which says, “The evening and the morning were the first day.” The weekly Jewish Sabbath began at sundown, at 6 pm Friday evening, and closed on Saturday evening at 6 pm.

Jonah: Lesson 5

Read Jonah 2

Jonah 2:1 - “Then Jonah prayed unto the Lord his God.”

Jonah did not pray when the storm was raging. He slept. From the fish’s belly, however, he prayed. He prayed to the Lord. Jonah 2:2 says that Jonah cried to the Lord from “the belly of hell.” Are the fish’s belly and the belly of hell (or Sheol) the same place? If they are the same, would not the Holy Spirit have used the same word in both instances?

There are two different words translated “belly” in these two verses. In the first instance, it is the word “me-ah,” which means “an abdomen.” In the second instance, it is the word “betan,” which means “a hollow place.” The idea given is that immediately after Jonah was swallowed and was still alive and conscious, he prayed.

He did not survive long; for, soon after, he cried from Sheol. Jonah prayed from the fish’s abdomen and cried to God from “the hollow place of Sheol.” If this is so, the miracle is not that Jonah remained alive for three days, but that he died and after three days and nights arose from his grave in the belly of the fish. This would be very much in keeping with what our Lord said in Matthew 12, “As Jonah was…so shall the Son of man be three days and nights in the heart of the earth.” This makes Jonah the perfect type.

Jonah had an appalling experience. Jonah also knew that he was being punished. Jonah 2:3 says, “Thou hast cast me into the deep.” Jonah’s prayer:

    Jonah 2:3 - “All Thy waves and billows passed over me.”

    Jonah 2:4 - “I am cast out of Thy sight.”

    Jonah 2:5 - “Weeds were wrapped about my head.”

Revelation: Chapter 15

Seven Last Judgments (Revelation 15:1) - In this chapter we are introduced to the final judgments of the Tribulation. Chapters 15 and 16 record the consummation of events leading to the Second Coming of Jesus Christ, as seen in Revelation 19. Rev. 15:1 introduces us to seven angels. Each one has the power to unleash a judgment upon mankind. These judgments are the most intense and devastating of all the judgments that precede them. The seal judgments showed man’s wrath against himself. The trumpet judgments showed Satan’s fury against mankind. The vial or bowl judgments reveal the wrath of God against rebels and enemies. God has been slow to anger, but at this point His long-suffering ends and His judgments fall on mankind.

John says in verse one, “for in them is filled up the wrath of God.” That is to say, in these judgments, the wrath of God is brought to a conclusion: It is finished. At this point, it is God’s wrath on those who have continued rejecting Christ that is to be finished. This is a sobering thought for anyone who continues to reject God’s offer of salvation. There will come a time when God’s patience and long-suffering will be exhausted and there will be no more opportunity to receive Christ as Savior; this happens to some in life, to others after death. The future for such persons is the lake of fire. See Rev. 20:11-15.


Study on John 14:6

“I am the way, the truth and the life; no man cometh unto the Father but by Me.”

The Gospel of John is built around two groups of miracles: (1) The realm of words, and (2) The realm of works. John’s Gospel was not written to give a chronological exposition of the life of Jesus Christ, as the synoptics do. John’s purpose in writing was to prove that Jesus was the Christ, the Son of God. John 19:31 says, “But these things are written, that you might believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that believing you might have life through His name.” To fulfill this purpose, John chose seven miracles in the realm of words and seven in the realm of works.

The miracles in the realm of works are as follows:

1. The changing of water into wine (John 2:1-12)

2. The healing of the nobleman’s son (John 4:46-56)

3. The healing of the impotent man (John 5:1-16)

4. The feeding of the five thousand (John 6:1-14)

5. Jesus walking on the water (John 6:15-21)

6. Jesus healing the man born blind (John 9)

7. Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead (John 11)


The miracles in the realm of words are as follows:

1. I am the Bread of Life (John 6)

2. I am the Light of the world (John 9)

3. I am the Door (John 10)

4. I am the Good Shepherd (John 10)

5. I am the Resurrection and the Life (John 11)

6. I am the Way (John 14)

7. I am the True Vine (John 15)

Syndicate content